Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Churches, baptisteries / Church of San Carlo Borromeo in San Martino in Rio

Church of San Carlo Borromeo

The Church of San Carlo, built at the same time as the Monastery of the Capuchin Monks by the wishes of the Marquis Carlo Filiberto of the House of Este San Martino, was opened to worship in 1618 with a solemn consecration ceremony.

Address and contacts

via Rubiera, 1 - 42018 San Martino in Rio
+39 0522 698422

Opening times

From 07.30 a.m to 12.00 e from 3.00 p.m. to 7.00 p.m.

How to get there

See the indication to reach San Martino in Rio

Historical notes

The original vault is concealed behind a recently-built double ceiling. On the left side of the nave there are three chapels with altars. The church contains important works such as 16th- and 17th-century canvases received from other closed-down monasteries, frontals in scagliola, and inlaid altars. The main altar with an carved and inlaid 18th-century tabernacle is particularly beautiful.
The canvas of St. Francis receiving the stigmata is stylistically interesting, particularly for the depiction of the landscape. The canvas matches the main altarpiece of the church.
The painting of the Crib is an early, possibly late 17th-century copy of the famous “Notte” by Correggio, once in the Basilica of San Prospero in Reggio Emilia, and now in Dresden.
The canvases of St. Sebastian were probably originally the side panels of a larger painting that was broken up, as shown by the scenes appearing on the sides and the landscape which can be imagined as continuing across the canvases.
The paintings are dated 1521 and signed by Ercole Banci, a painter from Ferrara in the height of the Renaissance period, influenced by the classicist Francesco Francia.