Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Museums and galleries / Tricolour Flag Hall in Reggio Emilia

Tricolour Flag Hall

A visit to the Tricolour Flag Hall and the Tricolour Flag Museum is necessary to discover the true spirit of the town, a rebellious side that fought to get rid of ancient servitude and to gain control of its future of freedom and equality.
Piazza Prampolini, 1 - 42121 Reggio nell'Emilia
Telephone:
0039/0522/456586
Website:
Tricolour Flag Museum

Address and contacts

Piazza Prampolini, 1 - 42121 Reggio Emilia
+39 0522.456586 (for information about the availability of the Tricolour Flag Hall)
+39 0522.456033 (for booking guided tours)
Tricolour Flag Museum
GiraReggio

Orari

The Tricolour Flag Hall is open to the public, from Tuesday to Sunday from 9.30 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. On Mondays it's closed to the public.
On Sundays afternoon it will be open for guided tour only or upon phone arrangement for groups.

The Hall is frequently used for civil weddings and other ceremonies, during which it is closed to the visitors. In order to be sure that the Hall is available, it is raccomanded to call in advance.

Entrance fees

Free entrance. Group visits upon phone Agreement.

How to get there

from ex Zucchi parking: viale Allegri, piazza Della VIttoria, Martiri del 7 luglio, del Monte;

from the railway station: Viale IV Novembre, Piazzale Tricolore, Via Emilia S. Pietro, Piazza del Monte, then turn left into Piazza Prampolini.

Historical notes

Designed and made by engineer Ludovico Bolognini, from Bologna, in 1774, the Hall was planned as the Town Hall's archives; it was here that, January 7, 1797, representatives of the free municipalities of Reggio, Modena, Bologna and Ferrara met to proclaim the Cispadane Republic, adopting the three-colour (green-white-red) flag, then choosen as the national flag (the prototype had horizontal bands) in 1848. The Tricolour hall represents the town's civic commitment. Today, it is the seat of the Municipal Council. The town standard, decorated with a gold medal is also kept here. The "Madonna della Ghiara" is depicted on one side, with Saints Prospero, Grisante and Daria; on the other side is the Town Hall coat of arms. The Town Hall is also used for weddings, conferences and other cultural events.
Every year, January 7, Reggio Emilia celebrates the anniversary of the proclamation of the Tricolour flag through civil, religious and cultural events.
 
Access for the disabled.