Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Churches, baptisteries / Church of Santo Stefano in Reggio Emilia

Church of Santo Stefano

The second half of the XI century is the probable period of construction of the primitive Chruch of Santo Stefano

Address and contacts

Via Emilia Santo Stefano, 30 - 42121 Reggio nell'Emilia
+39 0522. 437698
Parrocchia di Santo Stefano
GiraReggio

Opening times

Weekdays: 7.30 a.m. - 12.00
Sundays and holidays: 7.30 a.m. - 12.00 / 3.30 p.m. - 7.00 p.m.

How to get there

The church is in the town centre. See the map above.

Historical notes

The Chruch, located southward the Via Emilia, is surrounded by an open gallery on three sides; on the facade and on the northern side there is a cloister dating back to the XV Century. Parts of the Church sides, each one with three single-hole windows with double embrasure and a series of bracket-ending arcs (starting of the XII century), are visible only from the floors of the presbytery, because the structure is built in the rear building. The church was located in the town suburbs in the Middle Ages but in the Renaissance period it was inside the town walls. Since 1611 it had been connected to the Cavalieri Templari hospital, but when the religious order was supressed in 1312 it passed to the Cavalieri di malta up to 1796. At the beginning it was governed by a priest and towards the end of the XVII century by the Minimi di San Francesco di Paola. In 1794 the Carmelitani Calzati arrived here. Towards the end of the XVIII the church was restored; in 1795 the polygonal-plant apse was restored with wide windows. In 1953, during the church restoration, the ancient columns which were previously covered by pillars were brought to the light.

Other informations

Holy masses times