Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Abbeys, monasteries, sanctuaries / Benedictine Cloisters of San Pietro in Reggio Emilia

Benedictine Cloisters of San Pietro

The two Cloisters belonged to the Benedictine Monks who used to officiate in the annexed Saint Peter Church.

Address and contacts

Via Emilia San Pietro 44/C - 42121 Reggio nell'Emilia
GoogleMaps Street view

Opening times

Open during exhibitions or events only

Entrance fees

According to the on going events

How to get there

The Cloisters are located in the town centre of Reggio Emilia.
From the railway station, past viale IV Novembre, turn into via Emilia San Pietro from Piazzale Tricolore; follow this street for about 150 m then turn right, just before Saint Peter Church.

Historical notes

The small Cloister was completed in 1524 by Bartolemeo Spani and by Leonardo Pacchioni and is of typical renaissance design. The large Cloister was built in 1584 by Prospero and Francesco Pacchioni. A number of paintings can be seen but unfortunately many of the decorations were covered by a layer of lime in the 1950's. The large Cloister presents an imposing setting, with the high loggia running along the length of the facades, densely decorated with statues and windows. In the Cloister's interior you can also see the Memorial for the Victims of the Risorgimento and of the 1st World war, as well as the historic Cavalry Force Room.