Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Churches, baptisteries / Church of S. Maria della Misericordia in Correggio

Church of S. Maria della Misericordia

Adjacent to the street that runs along the Borgovecchio quarter, the church’s origin is tied to the activity of a confraternity present in Correggio as of 1316.

Address and contacts

Via Santa Maria - 42015 Correggio
+39 0522 693296 - Municipality of Correggio

Opening times

N.d.

How to get there

See the indication to reach Correggio

Historical notes

The origin of this church, one of the oldest buildings in the Borgovecchio quarter, is tied to the activity of the Confraternity of the Verberati di Santa Maria della Misericordia, present in Correggio as of 1316. The current configuration of the building is the result of much later works: from the mid-18th century, the front facing onto Via Santa Maria with portico with arches on columns and doric pilaster strips; from the mid-19th century the side on Via Borgovecchio in neo-Gothic style with pilaster strips and oval two-light mullioned windows. The interior, very simple and spare, holds important paintings by Antonio Allegri (Correggio). The suppression of the confraternity took place in 1782. The church then became a storehouse and market for firewood until 1796, when it was reopened for worship.

Following the suppression of the confraternity, the building was almost entirely abandoned until recent restoration works were carried out. The facade of the church, facing onto Via Santa Maria, is preceded by a porticoed part with four pilasters and round arches in exposed brick. Under the portico, with cross-vault, the entrance is preceded by a polychromatic wooden portal from the 18th century. The right side of the church is marked by pilaster strips and oval two-light mullioned windows. The small bell tower that can be seen on the side was built in 1833.
The church is no longer used for worship and is not accessible to visitors.

Related content