Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Churches, baptisteries / Basilica of Saints Quirino and Michele in Correggio

Basilica of Saints Quirino and Michele

The Basilica was built on the area of the old moat between 1516 and 1587. The devotion of the Correggio populace for the cult of San Quirino, Patron Saint of the town, dates very far back in time.

Address and contacts

Corso Cavour - 42015 Correggio
Phone 0039 0522 6317705 - Tourist information Office

How to get there

See the indication to reach Correggio

Historical notes

The façade, created at the end of the 18th century, assumed its present appearance (in Classical style) about thirty years ago on the design of Carmela Adani. The interior is of considerable architectural interest, having three naves with twelve side chapels and three at the heads of the naves. The presbytery is raised to make room for a large underlying crypt, restored by Adani. The furnishings are notable, in terms of the works of art as well as the altars, vestments, and decorations. One can admire a painting by Domenico Fetti (St. Martin‘s Vision, third altar on the right), and paintings, frescoes, and sculptures by local artists (Girolamo Donnini, Luigi Asioli, Emilio Meulli, Enrico Bertolini, Carmela Adani, etc.). Wooden altar-pieces, rich stuccowork, altar-frontals in polychromatic scagliola, works in terracotta, wax modelling, and papier-maché complete the furnishings of the Basilica. The sacristy holds antique furniture and, in particular, a fine treasury including an exquisite jewel-case made by the workshop of the Embriachi family (15th century, on deposit at the Civic Museum of Correggio). The lid of the wooden case is decorated with bone inlays and three sides are decorated with a series of figurative pilasters also in bone.

Useful links

Holy Mess times

 

 

Related content